On 26 November 2015 College Development Network (CDN), celebrated the outstanding projects and initiatives taking place in colleges the length and breadth of Scotland with its gala Annual Awards ceremony.

Download CDN Annual Awards 2015 press release here

Around 200 guests from the college sector, industry and Scotland’s key educational agencies gathered to recognise the talent, skills and achievements of colleges, their staff and learners.

This year the awards featured eight categories, reflecting key priorities in the college sector, including Employer Engagement and Learning and Teaching, which showcase digital learning and the ambitions of a key priority of the Scottish Government, Developing Scotland’s Young Workforce.

In the spirit of Developing the Young Workforce and the strengthening of school/college partnerships, guests enjoyed musical entertainment provided by Lourdes Secondary School Senior Choir and students from Glasgow Clyde College.

The coveted Student Contribution Award this year went to Kimberley Hamilton from West College Scotland. Kimberley is an adult returner to education studying science. Her submission showcased a learner who actively encourages and helps younger females in a male-dominated subject area.

Joe Wilson, CEO, CDN, said: “Congratulations to all winners. They all have much to be proud of and demonstrate the diverse talent and achievements that are taking place every day in colleges across Scotland.

CDN looks forward to working with colleges over the coming months, to provide ongoing support for the development of the sector and to celebrate further achievements and successes of its staff and learners.”

Speaking to guests at the ceremony, Aileen McKechnie, Director, Advanced Learning and Science, Scottish Government, said: “I am delighted to take part in events like this, which showcase and celebrate the enormous success of the talented staff and students here tonight. And it is absolutely right that we acknowledge and celebrate your successes. Congratulations to all of tonight’s winners.”