Scottish colleges have come together to support a new, and ground-breaking statement of commitment on the Climate Emergency.

The Scottish Colleges’ Statement of Commitment on the Climate Emergency, which has been produced by CDN’s college Climate Emergency Expert Group, in partnership with Colleges Scotland and Energy Skills Partnership (ESP), highlights how college staff and students are working together to achieve a more sustainable future for Scotland.

After the Scottish Government declared a Climate Emergency in 2019, Scotland’s colleges and their boards responded individually by addressing a range of environmental issues.

Now, as Scotland looks forward to hosting the COP26 UN Climate Change Conference in Glasgow this November, colleges have come together to establish and commit to delivering 10 key actions, with the aim of speeding up efforts to achieve net zero greenhouse gas emissions.

The Statement of Commitment on the Climate Emergency establishes 10 key actions to support Scotland’s efforts to achieve net-zero climate emissions by 2045, with Scotland’s colleges aiming to achieve net-zero by 2040 or earlier.

Carol Turnbull, Principal and CEO of Ayrshire College, and Chair of the College Principals’ Group, said:

‘Colleges will be central to supporting businesses and communities to develop the skills they need to respond to the Climate Emergency, so it is very appropriate that we collectively make a commitment to lead by example to achieve a greener, more sustainable future.’

Jim Metcalfe, Chief Executive of CDN, said:

‘Launching the Scottish Colleges’ Statement of Commitment on the Climate Emergency is an important step forward. It is extremely encouraging to see Scotland’s college sector tackling the issue of climate change in such a proactive and collaborative way. This is an ambitious commitment that will pave the way to a more sustainable future.’

Read the Scottish Colleges’ Statement of Commitment on the Climate Emergency here.

Watch the launch video, which includes staff and students from Borders College, City of Glasgow College, Dundee and Angus College, Edinburgh College and South Lanarkshire College, here: